OSI Committee Chairs Election for 2010-2011

Earlier this month, the OSI board held elections for the organization's committees. Board members interested in working on OSI initiatives such as membership, education, policy and economic development, outreach submitted their candidacy to the board. Based on the slate of candidates, the board voted the following chairpersons to lead each OSI initiative for the next year.

Committee Name - Committee Chairperson (2010-2011)
  1. Communications - Dr. Martin Michlmayr
  2. Education - Ms. Alolita Sharma
  3. Fundraising - Mr. Michael Tiemann
  4. Governance and Membership - Mr. Simon Phipps
  5. Infrastructure - Ms. Alolita Sharma
  6. Legal Affairs - Ms. Danese Cooper
  7. License Review - Mr. Russell Nelson
  8. New Projects and Outreach - Ms. Alolita Sharma
  9. Policy and Economic Development - Mr. Michael Tiemann

Some of the committees mentioned above such as communications, governance, fundraising, infrastructure are dedicated to running the OSI smoothly. Other committees are focused towards OSI initiatives and outreach including Education, Legal Affairs, Licensing, New Projects & Outreach and Policy & Economic Development.

If you have any questions or would like to work as a volunteer on a particular initiative of the OSI, write us at osi at opensource dot org.

To promote and protect open source software and communities...

For over 20 years the Open Source Initiative (OSI) has worked to raise awareness and adoption of open source software, and build bridges between open source communities of practice. As a global non-profit, the OSI champions software freedom in society through education, collaboration, and infrastructure, stewarding the Open Source Definition (OSD), and preventing abuse of the ideals and ethos inherent to the open source movement.

Open source software is made by many people and distributed under an OSD-compliant license which grants all the rights to use, study, change, and share the software in modified and unmodified form. Software freedom is essential to enabling community development of open source software.