2009 OSI Board Elections held in April

The OSI board's annual nominations and elections were held on April 1, 2009. Highlights of this process included: 1. New Board Membership: The board seat vacated by Mr. Bruno Souza was filled by Mr. Andrew Oliver, who has been a board observer for the last year. 2. Amendment to OSI's By-laws: The board voted to amend the by-laws to state that all board members serving their initial term will be elected to a one-year term. After one year of service, such board members will be eligible to stand for a subsequent two-year term. After three years of service, all board members will be eligible to stand for three-year consecutive terms. 3. Formal Election for Two-Year Terms: Two board members were up for formal election to two-year terms to the Board after successfully completing their first term of service - Mr. Martin Michlmayr and Mr. Harshad Gune. Both were re-elected to complete their terms. 4. Emeritus Members: The board voted to confer Emeritus status on Mr. Bruno Souza, in deference to his terms of service. 5. Election of Board Officers: Mr. Tiemann was re-elected as President unopposed. Ms. Cooper was re-elected as Treasurer unopposed. Ms. Sharma was elected as Secretary for an initial term. 6. Appointment of Board Observers: Appointment of board observers was deferred to next month's meeting. For more details, please refer to the minutes for the April board meeting.