OSI Board Meeting Minutes, Wednesday, August 10, 2012


Quorum reached and meeting called to order at 15:03 UTC.


Board Members

  1. Ms. Deborah Bryant, Director
  2. Mr. Karl Fogel, Director
  3. Mr. Jim Jagielski, Director
  4. Mr. Fabio Kon, Director (until 15:49 UTC)
  5. Mr. Martin Michlmayr, Secretary
  6. Mr. Mike Milinkovich, Director
  7. Mr. Simon Phipps, President
  8. Ms. Alolita Sharma, Treasurer
  9. Mr. Luis Villa, Director (joined at 15:24 UTC)
  10. Mr. Tony Wasserman, Director


  1. Mr. Mark Radcliffe, General Counsel

Expected, but Not Present

  1. Mr. Harshad Gune, Director

Sent Regrets


OSI Trademark and OSHWA

The Board discussed the trademark situation relating to OSHWA. Mr. Radcliffe provided an overview of OSI's trademark and options.

Ms. Bryant moved that the trademark committee (with the help of Mr. Radcliffe) would rapidly put together a coexistence agreement with OSHWA. Mr. Fogel seconded. The motion passed by unanimous consent.

The Board agreed that we should issue a joint press release with OSHWA once this matter is resolved.

Meeting adjourned at 16:12 UTC.

To promote and protect open source software and communities...

For over 20 years the Open Source Initiative (OSI) has worked to raise awareness and adoption of open source software, and build bridges between open source communities of practice. As a global non-profit, the OSI champions software freedom in society through education, collaboration, and infrastructure, stewarding the Open Source Definition (OSD), and preventing abuse of the ideals and ethos inherent to the open source movement.

Open source software is made by many people and distributed under an OSD-compliant license which grants all the rights to use, study, change, and share the software in modified and unmodified form. Software freedom is essential to enabling community development of open source software.