OSI Board Meeting Minutes, March 12, 2008

Quorum reached and meeting called to order at 8:11am PDT

Expected Attendees:

Mr. Michael Tiemann, President
Ms. Danese Cooper, Secretary and Treasurer
Mr. Ken Coar, Director
Ms. Alolita Sharma, Director
Mr. Russell Nelson, Director (by phone @ 8:15am PDT)
Ms. Nnenna Nwakanma, Director (by IRC @ 8:20am PDT)
Mr. Mark Radcliffe, General Counsel

Mr. Ernest Prabhakar (left 9:00am PDT)
Mr. Andrew C. Oliver
Mr. B'dale Garbee

Not Present:
Mr. Rishab Aiyer Ghosh, Director
Mr. Bruno Souza, Director
Mr. Matt Asay, Director
Mr. Raj Mathur, Director
Mr. Fede Heinz
Mr. Merrill Freund (Schwartz Communications)

1. Officer reports
a) President

Final stages of nominated board members. ISO issues with open standards are heating up.

b) General Counsel

Report on activities of Counsel with respect to trademark, amicus support of Jacobsen case, status of pro bono proposal

c) Secretary


Mr. Tiemann moved to approve February 6th minutes as edited for public posting. Seconded by Ms. Cooper. Passed by unanimously.
Ms. Cooper moved to approve March 2nd minutes as edited for public posting. Seconded by Mr. Nelson. Passed by unanimously.
Ms. Cooper moved to approve March 3rd minutes as edited for public posting. Seconded by Mr Tiemann. Passed by unanimously.

d) Treasurer

Report on cash reserves and payout of expenses relating to Face to Face.

Ms. Cooper sent email with precise directions for filing expense reports

2. Committee reports
a) Licensing Committee (Mr. Nelson)

Mr. Nelson moved that we approve the Affero GPLv2.0 as submitted to the
OSI Approved list with the classification of Uncategorized, Mr. Coar
seconded. Passed unanimously.

Anonymous Hero License: submitted and then withdrawn. No action by OSI.

Mr. Nelson moved that we return the NTP License to the submitter for
edits to promote generic use (removal of University of Delaware
language). Mr. Tiemann seconded. Five Aye votes, Zero nay votes, Ms.
Nwakanma abstained.

Nelson moved that we approve the ISC License as submitted to the OSI
Approved list with the classification of Uncategorized. Ms. Sharma
seconded. Five Aye votes, Zero Nay votes, Ms. Nwakanma abstained.

3. Old Business


4. New Business

a) Board Recruitment Status

Discussion of progress with recruitment (Ms. Cooper).

b) Vault Network's offer of hosting in exchange for acknowledgement.

Report on concall last week (Ms. Sharma). Discussion of range of services requested.

c) OSI ISP Infrastructure setup proposal update (Ms. Sharma)

Discussion of list of required services document. Ms. Sharma will move document to the Private Wiki. Mr. Oliver will send
standard RFP to team. Target a strawman proposal on the wiki by March 19, 2008.

d) Supporting Document Freedom Day (Ms. Sharma)

Proposal to post a blog supporting. Discussion of potentially displaying badge. Ms. Sharma will send language around to board.

e) Calls for Trademark Violation Lawsuit (MSFT Promise) (Mr. Tiemann):

Discussion of call on License Dicuss that we formally respond. Support
for Dr. Prabhakar's proposal. Ms. Cooper will set up a call with Mr.

f) Membership strawman (Ms. Cooper)

Discussion of draft Ms. Cooper will flesh out Roles, Responsibilities and Privileges for next regular April BOD meeting.

Ms. Cooper moved that we adjourn the meeting and Mr. Tiemann seconded. Passed by general consent. Meeting Adjorned 9:54 PDT.

To promote and protect open source software and communities...

For over 20 years the Open Source Initiative (OSI) has worked to raise awareness and adoption of open source software, and build bridges between open source communities of practice. As a global non-profit, the OSI champions software freedom in society through education, collaboration, and infrastructure, stewarding the Open Source Definition (OSD), and preventing abuse of the ideals and ethos inherent to the open source movement.

Open source software is made by many people and distributed under an OSD-compliant license which grants all the rights to use, study, change, and share the software in modified and unmodified form. Software freedom is essential to enabling community development of open source software.