OSI Board Meeting Minutes, April 18, 2007


Mr. Michael Tiemann, President,
Ms. Danese Cooper, Secretary & Treasurer,
Mr. Ken Coar, Director
Mr. Russ Nelson, Director
Mr. Ernie Prabhakar, Board Observer
Mr. Bdale Garbee, Board Observer

Meeting called to order and quorum was achieved at 8h22 am PDT


 * Proposal that we modify the bylaws to give freshman directors a 1-year initial appointment, followed by a 2-year term after reconfirmation when the appointment runs out rather than the existing 3-year term. This would allow for everyone to get used to working together and could give us a chance to adjust for any unforseen issues. Need to ask Mark Radcliffe for appropriate language. Idea will be fleshed out in email before next regular Board meeting.

 * Mr. Tiemann moved that the size of the Board be increased to ten seats. Mr. Coar seconded; passed by general consent.

 * Mr. Tiemann moved that the slate for the 2007 board be
Mr. Rishab Ayer Ghosh (retaining his seat for another 3-year term),
Ms. Alolita Sharma (replacing seat vacated by Sanjiva Weewarawana),
Mr. Raju Mathur (taking seat vacated by Joitchi Ito), and
Ms. Nnenna Nwakanma(taking the new seat).

Ken seconded; Passed unanimously.

 * Mr. Tiemann moved that Mr. Sanjiva Weewarawana and Mr. Joi Ito be appointed emeritus members, Ms. Cooper seconded; passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 8h57 PDT

To promote and protect open source software and communities...

For over 20 years the Open Source Initiative (OSI) has worked to raise awareness and adoption of open source software, and build bridges between open source communities of practice. As a global non-profit, the OSI champions software freedom in society through education, collaboration, and infrastructure, stewarding the Open Source Definition (OSD), and preventing abuse of the ideals and ethos inherent to the open source movement.

Open source software is made by many people and distributed under an OSD-compliant license which grants all the rights to use, study, change, and share the software in modified and unmodified form. Software freedom is essential to enabling community development of open source software.