OSI Board Meeting Minutes, October 19, 2005


Mr. Michael Tiemann, President and Director
Ms. Danese Cooper, Secretary/Treasurer and Director
Mr. Russ Nelson, Director
Mr. Rishab Aiyer Ghosh, Director


Mr. Ken Coar, Director
Mr. Bruno Souza, Director
Mr. Joi Ito, Director
Mr. Sanjiva Weewarawana, Director
Mr. Chris DiBona, Director

Meeting called to order at noon GMT


The Board held an executive session to discuss licenses and licensing with Microsoft's Jason Matasow and Steve Mutkosky. No conclusions were reached.

Meeting adjorned at 2:00 pm GMT

To promote and protect open source software and communities...

For over 20 years the Open Source Initiative (OSI) has worked to raise awareness and adoption of open source software, and build bridges between open source communities of practice. As a global non-profit, the OSI champions software freedom in society through education, collaboration, and infrastructure, stewarding the Open Source Definition (OSD), and preventing abuse of the ideals and ethos inherent to the open source movement.

Open source software is made by many people and distributed under an OSD-compliant license which grants all the rights to use, study, change, and share the software in modified and unmodified form. Software freedom is essential to enabling community development of open source software.