You are here

OSI Board Meeting Minutes, April 6, 2005

OSI Board Meeting Minutes

Friday April 6, 2005

11:00am EDT (8:00am PDT)-12:30pm EDT (9:30am PDT)

Attendees:

Mr. Michael Tiemann, President and Director
Ms. Danese Cooper, Secretary / Treasurer and Director
Mr. Russ Nelson, Director
Mr. Ken Coar, Director
Mr. Sanjiva Weewarawana, Director

Mr. Mark Radcliffe, General Counsel
Ms. Laura Majerus, Legal Affairs

Mr. Eric Raymond, Founder and Director Emeritus

Quorum was established at 11:00AM EDT (8:00AM PDT)

Mr. Tiemann began the meeting by outlining the goals agreed to in the March session, the slate of Board members we planned to seat, and the organizational benefits of establishing committees to do much of the work current done by the whole board, in particular the benefit of being able to act more independently and thus more efficiently on tasks of general consensus.

Mr. Radcliffe then explained the legal procedures and considerations of setting up committees (board representation, responsibility, accountability, etc).

Given Mr. Radcliffe's legal primer, Mr Tiemann then discussed specific goals for the next six months--where do we want be, what do we want to achieve?

Formal and prospective committee heads then each spoke about how they might support these goals and objectives, and who might do what work as follows:

a)License Approval (Mr. Nelson)
b)Membership & Outreach (Mr. Coar and Ms. Cooper)
c)Communications (Mr. Raymond)
d)Open Source Standards (Mr. Tiemann)
e)Best Practices (Ms. Cooper)
f)License Proliferation (Ms. Majerus)
g)International Aid (Mr. Weewarawana)

Mr. Radcliffe provides some parting thoughts to inform which of these committees we would want to establish first, and why.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:30PM EDT (9:30AM PDT)